Thank you for a wonderful 18-19!


Saturday, April 27, 2019 | 7:30pm | River Run Centre

WAGNER – Prelude to Tristan und Isolde
DVORAK – Symphony No. 8
MARTINU- Rhapsody for Viola and Orchestra
Guest Soloist violist LYNN SUE-A-QUAN (Under-23 GSO Concerto Winner)
Conductor – JUDITH YAN

GSO’s season finale features one of the most beloved works of the romantic repertoire, Dvořák’s Symphony No. 8. Celebrated as “the most joyful of romantic symphonic repertoire”,
this work is a brilliant combination of beautiful tunes and genius symphonic construction. Also featured as the winner of the GSO Under-23 Concerto Competitions, violist Lynn Sue-A-Quan.

Earlier this Season

2018/2019 Season Opening Gala

Saturday, October 20, 2018 | 7:30 pm | River Run Centre

VERDI – La Forza Del Destino
TCHAIKOVSKY –Symphony No. 4
 BRUCH – Violin Concerto
Guest Conductor – MARK FEWER
GSO welcomes Guest Conductor, Mark Fewer! Mark Fewer has performed around the world to critical acclaim!

Holiday Classics with the GSO
From Baroque to Hollywood

Sunday, December 9, 2018 | 3pm | River Run Centre

Guest Soloists – Natania Fok (Piano – GSO Under-23 Concerto Winner)
                                     The Blundell Brass 
Guest Choir – Guelph Youth Singers (Director Markus Howard)
Featuring – Guelph Youth Symphony Orchestra (Conductor Dylan Langan)
Conductor – JUDITH YAN


Tuesday, January 1, 2019 | 3pm | River Run Centre

STRAUSS and LEHAR Waltzes, Marches, Polkas
Guest Soloist – soprano SHARLEEN JOYNT
Guest Soloist – cellist LIVA COBURN
Conductor – JUDITH YAN

Start your new year with your favourite Viennese classics, with special guest, soprano SHARLEEN JOYNT.  Praised for her “silvery, sparkling, substantial and resonant soprano” (Die Deutsche Bühne), her “scintillating high range” (Opernwelt), and “an artistic command that leaves the listener breathless” (Deutschland Radio), this will be an unforgettable start to your 2019!

GSO POP UP Orchestra Festival Culminating Concert

Sunday, March 3, 2019 | 3pm | Harcourt United Church, 87 Dean Avenue

WAGNER – Siegfried Idyll (original setting)
VANHAL Concerto for 2 Bassoons
Soloists – bassoonists SIMION CIOBANU and KRISTIN DAY
MORLOCK-  Aeromancy for two cellos
A Thousand Years- Perry
Soloists- Mayor Cam & Rachel Guthrie
Conductor JUDITH YAN

The Guelph Symphony Orchestra presents the GSO POP UP Orchestra Festival. The
concert series will feature GSO musicians performing in landmark locations of our beloved City.
The culminating concert will feature Wagner’s “Siegfried Idyll”, the famous musical dedication of devotion from Wagner to his wife, Cosima, after the birth of their son Siegfried in 1869.

Click here to read more


Sunday, April 7, 2019 | 3pm | Basilica Our Lady Immaculate

Soprano – Lida Szkwarek
Mezzo – Pascale Spinney
Tenor – Ryan Downey
Bass – Zachary Read
Organ Joe Carere
Conductor JUDITH YAN

With Special Guests: the University of Guelph Symphonic Choir (Dr. Marta McCarthy)

Ground-breaking at the time of its creation, Beethoven’s Mass in C is among “the most thrilling settings in the history of the Mass”, described by the composer himself as “heartfelt resignation, whence comes a deep sincerity of religious feeling”.
We are thrilled to once again share the stage with the wonderful University of Guelph Symphonic Choir, GSO favourite organist, Joe Carere, and returning guest soloists Lida Szkwarek, Pascale Spinney, Ryan Downey, and Zachary Read.

David Knight’s Finale Program Notes

Program Notes                                                          GSO Finale Concert, April 27th, 7:30pm, River Run Centre                
David B. Knight

Prelude and Liebestod from Tristan and Isoldeby Richard Wagner (1813-1883). It is difficult to pick one’s favourite from Wagner thirteen operatic dramas, when the list includes Der fliegende Holländer, Tannhäuser, Lohengrin, Das Rheingold, Die Walküre,Siegfried, and Die Meistersinger, and Götterdämmerung.Nevertheless, one work stands out for its use of chromaticism and dissonance surprised many listeners when the work was first performed. Dealing with tragic love and desire, Tristan and Isoldeoffered unusual new music. Even Hector Berlioz, whose own Symphonie Fantastiquehad shocked many in 1830, was uncomfortable when he heard Wagner’s new work. Not so for every member of the audience at the first performance in Munich in1865. Significantly, many people were then, and others have been ever since, inspired by what Wagner wrote.

GSO Pop Up Orchestra Festival in full swing!

What’s a Pop-Up Orchestra Festival? In the month of February, members of the Guelph Symphony will mount a series of free concerts, in imaginative, unexpected and less formal settings, designed to engage, entertain and to be interactive.

The Festival will launch on Family Day weekend and culminate in a main series highlight concert, for our patrons, at Harcourt United Church, on March 3rd at 3pm.

The GSO Under 23 Concerto Results!

Finals for the Guelph Symphony Orchestra’s 2019  Under 23 Concerto Competition were held at the Guelph Youth Music Centre, on Sunday January 13th. Congratulations to violinist Emily Bosenius,  who will play a full concerto with us in the 2019-20 season and to our two runners-up, James David Conquer (saxophone) and Veronika Manchur (violinist)!

Special thanks to our charming Emcee, Jay Samuel and to our wonderful adjudicators, Pateris Zarins and GSO Concertmaster, Jose Molina.

Click here for more details.

New Year’s Day Contest

Congratulations to the five winners of the GSO’s New Year’s Day “Count the Lightning Strikes” Contest! How many times did the cymbals strike? 204. (Our first place winner guessed 202- impressive)!

1st A. Rauser

2nd (tie) A. Hug & A. Turner

4th J. Lefler Rosenberg

5th A. Margosian

We need your votes!  Our Pop Up Orchestra Festival idea has made it to the finals in the Aviva Community Fund contest.

Fifty grants of $10,000 will be awarded, based on the highest number of votes received. It takes only a minute and you can cast all 10 votes for Guelph Symphony Orchestra at once. This contest is only open for seven days.  Cast your vote for us!! 

Thanks for your help!